eGovernance in India

Improving eGovernance in INDIA

CIC Genesis

Posted by egovindia on June 22, 2006

CIC Genesis

The North-East of India is a land of breath-taking natural beauty.

The region comprises eight states viz. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.

The hills with dense forest cover make traditional forms of communications are very difficult.

A vital need has been felt to extend the reach of modern day technology to the area in order to enable rapid socio-economic development and bring the area closer to the national mainstream.

With this objective in mind, the Prime Minister announced a plan for the establishment of IT facilities at the block level in the North- Eastern Region in February, 2000.

In April 2000, the Ministry of Information Technology launched a project to establish Community Information Centres (CICs) in all blocks in North-Eastern States. Under this project CICs are in the process of being setup in all 487 blocks of the North-Eastern States.

The pilot Project covering 30 blocks in these states was inaugurated on 12th August, 2000 by Hon'ble Minister for Information Technology.

The establishment of the CICs constitutes a tremendously challenging task in view of the remoteness of the area and the difficult mountainous terrain.

In a region where good communication is lacking, satellite based links to the world outside will usher in a revolution in socio-economic development.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: