eGovernance in India

Improving eGovernance in INDIA

Retired CEC, CJI, babus float anti-corruption outfit

Posted by egovindia on June 24, 2006

Retired CEC, CJI, babus float anti-corruption outfit


New Delhi: Boasting of big names such as former chief justice R C Lahoti and former poll body chief J M Lygndoh as its founder members, a citizens' group has been formed to check corruption in public life.

India Rejuvenation Initiative (IRI) or Bharat Punaruthhan Abhiyan came into being last week as a non-political and social forum formed by some conscientious individuals.

“The group will adopt legal and democratic means to bring about changes and improve accountability in all matters of importance to the public and the nation,” former police chief of Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir and Mumbai J Ribeiro, who is a member, said in a press release on Friday.

At its first meeting, the IRI resolved to expose corruption, gross inaction and inefficiency in high places.

The forum also decided to support honest public servants so that they are able to continue their hard work fearlessly.

The members were unanimous about the need to make the initiative a mass movement and to give voice to those who are at the receiving end of the system.

In particular, it was felt that to boost the morale of youth, seminars, extension lectures and workshops should be organised in educational institutions.

One of the start-up actions proposed is to prevent the creation of VIP facilities for the privileged like public servants, appropriate means to satisfy the needs of the common man and law abiding citizens.
The IRI also decided to work for strengthening decentralised governance in the country.

The forum made an appeal to all citizens to come forward and join hands in this initiative.

The e-mail address of the organisation is

Besides Lahoti, Lygndoh and Ribeiro, the forum also has as members former comptroller and auditor general of India V K Shunglu and former chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Hari Gautam.

It also includes retired Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal S Krishnaswamy, former secretaries to the Union government S A T Rizvi and N C Saxena, renowned educationist H C Pandey, former Border Security Force (BSF) chief Prakash Singh, former Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur director S K Dube, veteran journalist Sharat Pradhan and administrative officers S R Lakha, V S Pandey, Raju Sharma, Sunil Kumar and Renuka Kumar, besides police officer Jasbir Singh.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: