eGovernance in India

Improving eGovernance in INDIA

Four named to Kashmir working groups

Posted by egovindia on July 5, 2006

Four named to Kashmir working groupsIANS

Jammu, July 1: Two former diplomats, an economist and a jurist were today named as heads of four of the five joint working groups announced by the Prime Minister, Dr Manmohan Singh to establish a credible mechanism to give concrete shape to ideas emanating from the second roundtable conference on Kashmir.

Mr Mohammad Hamid Ansari, who heads the National Commission for Minorities, will chair the working group on creating additional confidence building measures in the state, it was announced here.

The group will evolve, among other things, an effective rehabilitation policy for those affected by the separatist violence in the state.

A former diplomat, Mr Ansari has also served as vice-chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University.

Former foreign secretary, Mr M K Rasgotra will head the group on easing procedures for people-to-people contacts across the Line of Control that divides Kashmir between India and Pakistan.

It will also look at the possibility of increasing goods traffic across the LoC as well as opening new routes at Kargil, in Jammu and Kashmir, and Skardu, in Pakistani Kashmir.

Former Reserve Bank of India governor, Dr C Rangarajan will head the group on economic development of Kashmir. It will evolve strategies aimed at increasing job opportunities and boosting balanced regional and sub-regional development.

Former chief justice of India, Mr Justice A M Ahmedi will head the group that will deliberate on the special status of Kashmir in the Indian Union.

Former Planning Commission secretary, Mr N C Saxena has been approached to head the group on good governance. His consent is awaited, official sources said.

This group will also aim to strengthen local self-governance and implementation of the Right to Information Act.

Addressing the concluding session of the two-day roundtable conference in Srinagar on May 25, Dr Manmohan Singh said the five groups will further the dialogue process in the strife-torn state.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: